Indian Army’s Arms and Services

by Sachin Kumar on March 8, 2014

indian-armyIndian Army is regarded as one of the strongest armies in the world. The objective of Indian Army is to safeguard the nation from external or internal threats. Though the army has a particular formation and structures such as brigade, company, platoon etc and under this structure the army is further divided into different arms and services i.e different departments, who work altogether and ensures smooth running of the chain of command.

Combat Arms

Combat arms are the fighting arms who engage the enemy directly in actual combat.

  • Infantry:  Infantry is the branch of an army that fights on foot. It comprises soldiers specifically trained to engage, fight, and defeat the enemy in face-to-face combat.
  • Armoured Corps: Armoured corps comprises of tanks. Tanks are the fighting vehicles designed for front-line combat which combines operational mobility and tactical offensive and defensive capabilities. Armoured corps also includes Cavalry Regiments.
  • Regiment of Artillery: The role of Artillery is to provide supporting artillery fire to the armoured corps and the Infantry. Artillery comprises with heavier long-range weapons which causes heavy damage to the enemies. 

Supporting Arms

Supporting arms are those who provides support to the combat arms.

  • Army Aviation Corps: The Aviation Corps provides tactical air transport, reconnaissance, and medical evacuation to army. AAC provides rapid mobility to troops in the field. AAC is inducting attack helicopters to increase its capabilities.
  • Corps of Engineers: Corps of Engineers helps the Fighting Arms forces by constructing roads, bridges, railway line, mine clearing, obstacle clearance and bunker demolition. It also checks and deny the progress of mobility to the enemy by mine laying, demolitions, obstacle construction.
  • Corps of Signals: Corps of Signals handles its military communications.  The Signals provide physical dispatch of messages and takes care of cyber security.
  • Mechanized Infantry: It is the combination of both Armoured Corps and Infantry.It is infantry equipped with armored personnel carriers (APCs) for transporting troops and infantry fighting vehicles (IFVs) for combat.
  • Army Air Defence: The Air Defence Corps provides support against enemy air attack. AAD uses anti-aircraft guns and surface to air missiles to destroy aerial enemy targets.


Those troops that provide the logistical support to the Arms are called Services.

  1. Army Education Corps: it provides educational training to the troops
  2. Army Medical Corps: AMC provides medical facilities to all the defence personnel and their dependents. AMC is capable of providing treatment of every kind.
  3. Army Ordnance Corps: The AOC is responsible for procurement, storage and supply of vehicles, equipment, clothing and weapon systems. In other words, all most every item of army except ration and fuel.
  4. Army Postal Service Corps: Indian Army has its own postal service corps which caters the postal needs of defence services.
  5. Army Service Corps: the ASC is responsible for procurement, storage and distribution of supplies, transport, fuel oils and lubricants to Army.
  6. Corps of Electronics and Mechanical Engineers: The EME is responsible for repairing and maintaining all electrical, electronic and mechanical devices which are in service with Indian Army.
  7. Corps of Military Police: The role of this Corps is primarily to assist Army formations in maintaining a high standard of discipline of its troops, prevent breaches of various rules and regulations. In addition, the CMP is trained to handle prisoners of war and to regulate traffic, as well as to handle basic telecommunication equipment such as telephone exchanges.
  8. Intelligence Corps: As the name suggests, intelligence corps works to gather intelligence for Army.
  9. Judge Advocate General’s Department: Looks into the legal matters related to Indian Army.
  10. Army Dental Corps: Army Dental Corps provides dental care to all the personnel
  11. Remount and Veterinary Corps: procurement, breeding and training of Army dogs. Also the prevention and treatment of infectious diseases is the responsibility.
  12. Other Services: Pioneer Corps, , Military Nursing Service

Like us on Facebook:

If you like our article then do share it with your friends and subscribe Naval Journey’s newsletter for regular updates.

Got a Question? Leave a comment via Facebook...

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: